RTÉ publishes highest earning presenters salaries

Padraig Conlon 20 Jan 2021

RTÉ has today published the fees earned by its highest-paid presenters in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

The figures reveal that for three years year in a row, the stations three highest paid presenters are Ryan Tubridy, Ray Darcy and Joe Duffy.

In addition, RTÉ confirms that, as part of a range of cost-cutting measures announced last year, the total fees paid to its highest-paid presenters has been reduced by 15% in 2020.

Total fees paid to RTÉ’s highest earning presenters represent less than 1% of RTÉ’s total operating costs.

Commenting following the release of the figures, RTÉ Director-General, Dee Forbes, said:

“Our presenters have been crucial to RTÉ’s output throughout this pandemic, as audiences turned to their national public media in record numbers for vital news, information, entertainment and companionship.

“They continue to make a significant contribution to public media in Ireland and enable RTÉ to optimise important commercial revenue, which is essential to support our public services.

“RTÉ has reduced overall annual operating costs by over €100m since 2008, and last year targeted additional savings of €60m over three years, which we are on course to deliver.

“In that context, we continue to keep the fees of our highest-paid presenters under constant review.”

In 2017, Ryan Tubridy earned €491,667, second place was Ray D’Arcy, on €450,000, followed by Joe Duffy earning €398,738 and Sean O’Rourke with €321,071.

In fifth place was Marian Finucane in 2017 – who died last year – with earnings of €314,809.

She was followed by Miriam O’Callaghan on €299,000, Claire Byrne who earned €240,000, George Hamilton on €191,496, Darragh Maloney with €183,743 and Nicky Bryne on €182,400.

In 2018, Ryan Tubridy earned €495,000 and was again followed by Ray D’Arcy on €450,000.

Joe Duffy maintained third place with €404,988, with Marian Finucane fourth on €333,013.

Fifth was Sean O’Rourke on €325,263, followed by Miriam O’Callaghan on €322,667 and Claire Byrne earning €250,000.

Brendan O’Connor came in eighth taking home €240,000, Bryan Dobson made €209,282 and George Hamilton completed the 2018 top ten with €192,796.

In 2019 Ryan Tubridy again earned €495,000, with Ray D’Arcy second on €450,000 and Joe Duffy in third place with €392,494.

Fourth was Marian Finucane who earned €358,013 followed by Sean O’Rourke on €327,988.

Miriam O’Callaghan again took sixth place with earnings of €320,000, followed by Claire Byrne with €250,000, Brendan O’Connor on €220,000, Bryan Dobson again on €209,282, and Mary Wilson entered the top ten earning €196,961.

Table: RTÉ 10 Highest Paid Presenters 2017, 2018 and 2019 on an Earnings Basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related News